Clare Island Lighthouse is sited on the most northerly point of the island, high on the cliffs. Built in 1806 by the Marquis of Sligo, the lighthouse did its duty for seven years until a fire, in September 1813, destroyed the lantern and part of the tower.
A temporary light was set up until a new tower and Keeper's dwelling were built; the new lantern tower was built and commissioned toward the end of 1818. The cylindrical, masonry Lantern Tower is 118 metres (387 ft) tall and 11 metres (36 ft) across. The lighthouse is unique in that it’s the only two-towered lighthouse in Ireland. The Lighthouse was decommissioned in 1965, after 159 years of faithful service, because, ironically, it is so high on the cliffs it was often shrouded in mist! The current owner bought the property in 2008 & has sensitively and expertly renovated the buildings including the original lighthouse tower.
The Lighthouse has now re-established itself at the heart of Clare Island, providing modern guesthouse comfort and an old-style welcome – a safe-haven of a different kind.